Lampung & Krakatoa Islands

Lampung & Krakatoa Islands

Lampung is a province in Indonesia. It is located on the southern tip of the island of Sumatra and borders the provinces of Bengkulu and South Sumatra to its north. It is the original home of the Lampung people, who speak their own language and possess their own written script. Its capital is Bandar Lampung.
There are islands located within Lampung Province, which are mostly located in the Bay of Lampung, among them Daro, Legundi,Tegal, Sebuku, Ketagian, Sebesi, Poahawang, Krakatoa, Putus, and Tabuan. Pisang Island lies at the entrance to the regency of West Lampung.

Although tourism is not Lampung Province's main source of income, the administration has attempted to boost tourism through Flamboyant Tanjung Setia. This event seeks to draw tourists to Tanjung Setia Beach, which has a natural panoramic view and challenging waves for surfing. Another tourist attraction is the Way Kambas National Park, which is popular with local tourists. In 2010, four-hundred thousand tourists visited Lampung Province, including ten thousand foreign tourists mainly from Australia and New Zealand.

Way Kambas National Park is a national park and elephant sanctuary in the district of Labuhan Ratu, East Lampung, Indonesia. In addition to Way Kambas, another elephant school (Elephant Training Centre) can also be found in Minas, Riau. The number of Sumatran elephants (Elephas maximus sumatranus) living in the region has decreased. Way Kambas National Park was established in 1985 as the first elephant school in Indonesia and is expected to become a center for elephant conservation in taming, training, breeding and conservation. Until now, this PKG has trained about three hundred elephants that have been deployed to other parts of the country.

In recent years, the province has been largely popular for snorkeling and diving. Many domestic tourists, as well as international ones from various diving communities, have been visiting the different spots the province offers, such as Pantai Ringgung, Pulau Tegal, Pulau Pahawang, Pulau Kelagian, Pulau Balak, Pulau Mahitam, and Tanjung Putus.

Other areas you might be interested in